Social media and ME

One of the recurring themes of the Electronic Marketing unit this semester is personal branding. What you do online will speak volumes about you as a person. I’m not going to give tips on how to do that because I am definitely no expert. But please refer to Forbes article ” The first step to building your personal brand” and Mashable’s article, “How to Create a killer personal branding campaign” if you are interested! Also: check out these 30 painful personal branding mistakes… What an extensive and exhaustive list!

So lately, in the spirit of things (and a perfect excuse to procrastinate), I have just deleted a bunch of useless followers and unfollowed many on my Twitter account, added Pinterest into my social media portfolio (links on the right hand side btw), blogging and commenting more often and updated my Instagram with more followers. Next on my list is to get a LinkedIn account. Baby steps!

Many presentations, lectures, speakers etc, have stressed the importance of being active on the social media front, especially for those who aspire to dive into the social media and marketing world. Creating an online brand for yourself, getting involved and making sure you ‘stand out from the crowd’ is vital to landing a job or making the right connections. I’m a little wary of this. I have to say the reasons why I’m so late into the game is due to the fact that I’m not sure what my career goals in terms of marketing will be and ‘getting myself out there’, so to speak, is very much outside my comfort zone. Previously, I have been tweeting, instagramming & using facebook for my own personal use (hence lack of filter on twitter- please excuse my rants!). The transition into a ‘professional me’, on the web means I have to be wary of things I say and post online… and it will be a huge challenge to keep active online.

 However, I have decided to embark on this, purely on the basis that I have abosultely nothing to lose. Let’s see how it goes!

Also: check out Intel’s  “What about Me” app online. It produces an infographic on how you use social media by connecting your twitter, youtube, facebook accounts! Very interesting to see how I use social media. http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/what-about-me/what-about-me.html

How about you? What are your goals in regards to your own personal brand? How is your journey going?

11 thoughts on “Social media and ME

  1. It’s an interesting concept, the fact that we are now able to have a “brand” as a persons. Before social networking sites, it used to be us as is – us on a telephone talking to someone, us meeting people in person at parties, us going shopping/brunching with friends with anonymity, unbeknownst to the large corporations we were pouring our weekly allowances in.

    “Branding” is associated with publicity, getting our faces/names on something, “famous” (which i guess is a dangerous word these days – should it be ‘infamous’, more like?). In a sense, Facebook check-ins make up our brand (within a brand?), even putting up which school you went to is promoting the education you got.

    I find these days our ‘personal brand’ is blurring with our ‘personal identity/personality’ – is there a distinction or is the fact that our online presence is growing to such burgeoning proportions that it will become either/or?

    Social media such as Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and Facebook take us into a realm of self-perception, self-promotion and selfness that I can understand your wariness in venturing into this journey on a professional front. Like anything we post online, the decisions we make are done so in a very public setting, however from a business perspective, allowing the audience or target market to be a part of the process of developing a ‘professional you’ can oftentimes be quite helpful in working out what it is you want to achieve.

    • It is a very interesting concept (thanks for the comment btw), and also a frustrating one as well. Another point I wanted to make was, if you are targetting yourself, adjusting your content (what is posted, tweeted, shared) to a particular audience, isn’t there a chance that what you put forward may not be an ‘authentic’ representation of yourself? We all want to put our best foot forward and this idea of personal branding online also allows us to pretty much be whoever we want to be. Creepy..
      I guess in respect to career goals and pathways- your personal brand is also a measure of the value you can bring to an organisation and your personality/ personal identity that you present online encompasses this personal brand? In some ways, our online presense is growing to become a reflection of who you are on the online space.

  2. i can’t help but agree that personal branding seems to sorta coexist with person identity. especially when somebody doesn’t know you very well. its like having a marketing person decide what you should be like, but only this time we’re the marketers for ourselves.

    • Thanks Malcolm for your comment! That’s also a great thing about personal branding- we can control who sees what. We can definitely leverage and showcase our best qualities!

  3. Thanks for the read Lisa.
    In regards to online personal branding, I have not done much.
    The blogs… no one knows its me apart from a couple of friends whom I’ve asked to read and comment on haha

    On Facebook I rarely update my status purely because I don’t want to be the annoying friend that is always posting useless information/inspirational quotes.

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done
    a amazing job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on
    Chrome. Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

