Christmas: time for increased spam

I have an email widget on my phone, which updates my emails periodically. Previously, I was lucky to get 1 or 2 new emails a day. However, in the past two days, my inbox has increased in spam during this lead up to Christmas. Email marketing is still alive and well people!

In the past 2 days I have amassed more than 60 emails in my inbox from various deals websites and specific brands about Christmas specials, reminders to get my orders in and the like. I have only opened one email from eBay regarding a one day sale on Apple iPad. (I missed out unfortunately). This could be partly my own fault for signing up to email subscriptions… I don’t have that many… probably around 10 or so from my favourite brands, websites etc. I will utilise the select all function and DELETE!

Marketers should be careful to send out too many emails during the Christmas period! It may backfire and I will stop subscribing all together if it gets really out of hand!

Just like they say.. it IS the silly season!

Leave a Reply

